Nine forms of Durga During Navratri

Genarally Navratri puja started with the Puja of Maa Durga, Maa Laxmi and Maa Saraswati but 9 days also dedicated to different forms of Maa Durga namely Maa Shailputri, Brahmacharani, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandmata, Kaatyayani, Kaalratri, Mahagauri and Maa Siddhiratri. These all forms of Maa durga worship in different way as per the rituals and traditions of the region and by own culture.

||  Shailputri ||

First day of Navratri dedicated to Shailputri Devi

Goddess Durga was born in the house of King of Mountains “Parvat Raj Himalaya”, so she is called “Shailputri” means the daughter of mountain. 1st appearance of Ma-Durga is known as shail-putri. Read More 

|| Bhramcharini Devi ||

Second day of Navratri deidicated to Bhramcharini Devi

2nd appearance of Ma-Durga is known as Brahmacharini. Brahma means penance meaning Brahamacharini doing penance. Brahma has 3 meaning knowledge of scriptures, essence and penance. Read More

|| Chandraghanta ||

Third day of Navratri dedicated to Chandraghanta Devi

DeviChandraghanta Ma is known and named Chandraghanta or Chandra-Khanda for the semi-circular moon (Chandra) which appears like a bell (Ghanta) on her forehead. Read More
|| Kushmanda ||

Fourth day of Navratri decidated to Kushmanda Devi

On the fourth day Mata Durga is worshipped as her Ma Kushmanda swarup. She is depicted as seated on a lion, and possesses eight arms. She resides in solar systems and represents all knowledge. Read More
|| Skandmata Devi ||

Fifth day of Navratri dedicated to Skandmata Devi

She is the Goddess of Fire. The fifth swarup of Ma Durga is “Skanda Mata”. The daughter of Himalaya, after observing penance got married with Shiva. She had a son named “Skanda.” Skanda is a leader of the army of Gods. Read More
|| Kaatyayani Devi ||

Sixth day of Navratri dedicated to Kaatyayani Devi

The goddess of Vrindavan, she is depicted as having four arms and three eyes, she is seated on a lion. She is the sixth swarup of Ma Durga and is known as Mata Katyayani. The son of “Kat” was “Katya”. Read More

|| Kaalratri ||

Seventh day of Navratri dedicated to Kaalratri Devi

The seventh swarup of Ma Durga is Mata Kalratri. She is black like night. Her Hair is always shown as pitch black, long, loose and scattered . She has put on necklaces shining like lightening and human skulls. Read More

|| Mahagauri Devi ||

Eighth day of Navratri dedicated to Mahagauri Devi

She is like an eight-year-old girl. She is intelligent and peaceful, possesses three eyes and four arms, and uses the bull as her vehicle.The Eighth swarup of Ma Durga is Ma “Maha Gauri.” Read More

|| Siddhiratri Devi ||
Ninth day of Navratri decicated to Siddhiratri Devi

The ninth form of Ma Durga is the Ma Siddhidaatri. Ma Siddhidatri is the giver of all forms of achievements [Siddhi], which according to the Markand Purana are Anima, Mahima, Garima, Ladhima, Prapti, Prakaamya, Ishitva and Vashitva. Read More

Share this article with your Network  : Bookmark and Share


anoop sharma said...

This is a great post. You can find complete detail about Maa durga here.
you can also find Navratri detail.

Get free Maa durga wallpaper.

Shravya Reddy said...

nice post! Thanks for providing the complete information of navarathri festival, During this festival me and my mother offer prayers to her daily by chanting durga mantra with devotion.

  © Blogger templates The Professional Template by 2008

Back to TOP